Print this page

Surf Club Appoints Leaders

ONE of Port Fairy's biggest clubs has signed off on an another successful 12 months and announced its leadership team for the year ahead.

The Port Fairy Surf Life Saving Club held its annual general meeting last Sunday, with Ian Powell re-elected as club president.

Mr Powell will be joined on the executive by Neil Dyson (vice-president), Jenny Boyer (secretary), Gerard Cashill (treasurer), Paul Buchanan (captain) and Mark Plant (chief instructor).

In his president's report, Mr Powell highlighted the success club members had in the summer season at carnivals across the country.

This included medals at the world titles, the state Nippers championships, the Australian titles in Queensland and at a major carnival in Anglesea.

He also congratulated club members for their contribution to Port Fairy's successful staging of a leg of the Navy Series Surf Boat competition. Mr Powell also noted work completed to the clubhouse over the past 12 months.

This includes the fixing of a water leak , updating the club honour board, the installation of a new trophy cabinet and a computer-controlled locking system for the building.

At the annual meeting, the club bestowed life memberships on four long-serving club members .

Martina and Shaun Murrihy and Scott and Catherine Hetherington were made life members for their sustained and outstanding service to the club.

Mr Powell congratulated the four for their efforts and was high in his praise of all club members.

"It has indeed been a busy year with member achievements and progress in many areas," Mr Powell said.

"I would like to thank all club members and especially the club committee who made this possible.

"It is people like this that have made our town the most liveable community in the world."


ANTHONY BRADY 2013 ARTICLE: Surf club appoints leaders, 22 Aug, 2013 12:30 AM. [The Moyne Gazette online]. Available at [Accessed 29 August 2013]
ANTHONY BRADY 2013, IMAGE: Shaun and Martina Murrihy and Scott and Catherine Hetherington. [The Moyne Gazette online]. Available at [Accessed 29 August 2013]